His Eye is on the Sparrow

His Eye is on the Sparrow
Words by Civilla D. Martin, 1905
.
Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heaven and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
.
“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
.
Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
.
I sing because I’m happy,
I sing because I’m free,
For His eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches me.

SparrowMany

 

This popular hymn is based on the following scripture.

Matthew 10:29-31   Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

‘God’s eye is on the sparrow’. If not careful, we may be tempted to underestimate this glorious truth. God does not watch simply as a passive spectator. Seeing and taking notice of every sparrow fall requires omnipotence, but Jesus points past that mind boggling truth to something even more profound – God’s sovereign governance. In other words, not only does God’s watchful eye see the sparrow, but his hand of providence guides its flight.

Consider how the birds congregate in the autumn, ready for their flight across the purple sea. How do they find their way? The believer in providence holds that the wing of every bird has stamped upon it the place where it shall fly. Birds may whirl about, above, beneath, — east, west, north, south — wherever they please; still, it is all according to the providential hand of God. His hand guides their flight.

His eye and hand are certainly on the sparrow. Take heart, you are worth more than many sparrows!

***

From:   http://elbourne.org/archives/2005/02/04/his-eye-is-on-the-sparrow/

Related:
Don’t Be Afraid    {an invitation to TRUST in the Lord!}
His Eye is on the Sparrow  {Prayer}
His Care – Many Sparrows

***

From:    The Little Things Too – Our Daily Bread

Matthew 10:29-31   Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.


SparrowSeason

If God sees the sparrow’s fall,
Paints the lilies short and tall,
Gives the skies their azure hue,
Will He not then care for you ?

Nothing is too great for God to accomplish,
Nothing to small for His attention.

Matthew 6:25-27   Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

Psalm 55:22 AMP   Cast your burden on the Lord [releasing the weight of it] and He will sustain you; He will never allow the [consistently] righteous to be moved (made to slip, fall, or fail).

As the sparrow survives the winter
So will you too survive this season! 

 

Take heart
His eye and hand are certainly on the sparrow
I know He watches over you
Nothing is too great for the Lord to accomplish
Nothing is to small for His attention. 

So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. 

 

Trust in the LORD
For you are in His care! 

***

Psalm 84:2-3    My soul longs, yes, even faints for the courts of the LORD; My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God. Even the sparrow has found a home, And the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young–– even Your altars, O LORD of hosts, My King and my God.

The sparrow could not have picked a better home! Or a better place to rest or raise her young. :)

Oh the safety, refuge and rest found in the Lord’s presence. 

How I long to be in the presence of the living God
How I long to be ever praising Him
Lifting my hands in His sanctuary
Singing for joy as I seek His face

Oh the fullness of joy as I am held in His gaze!

Better is one day in Your courts O LORD than a thousand elsewhere.

Yes Lord bring your sparrows home,  for the time of singing is come.

Psalm 84:1-5
1 How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty!
2 My soul yearns, even faints,
for the courts of the LORD;
my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.
3 Even the sparrow has found a home,
and the swallow a nest for herself,
where she may have her young—
a place near your altar,
O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.
4 Blessed are those who dwell in Your house;
they are ever praising you.
Selah 

5 Blessed are those whose strength{trust} is in You,
who have set their hearts on pilgrimage
{in whose heart are the highways to Zion.}.
________________________________________________________________________

From: Netbible Ps 84:3

*The psalmist here romanticizes the temple as a place of refuge and safety. As he thinks of the birds nesting near its roof, he envisions them finding protection in God’s presence.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “His Eye is on the Sparrow”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    Yes, yes! This is so timely! Kriston Couchey wrote in another discussion about the world that is cooling (and I heard in his words that ”people of the world, many believers among them, are growing cold”). That -growing cold ,even freezing- happens so fast and easily now, I know it from my self!

    Yes, trusting the Lord in every matter, every precious second (we have so very little time!!!) is simple but it’ s so hard at the same time! Really trusting the Lord in everyday life is so out of this world and so different from what we can see and experience in natural! I’ ve been struggling with a rebellion in me that has come out as unbelief and fear! What can I do? I can share every single matter, even fears, unbeliefs, rebellions.. with the Lover of my soul! And I will do it because He has promised me to do so!

    Thank you so much Karen for what you shared, as it was for me,too!

    Petra Honkala

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    “No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow.”

  3. Greet Today with a Grateful Heart « Touching the King! Says:

    [...] Related [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

