A Sincere Heart

Philippians 1:9-11    And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve the things that are excellent, in order to be *sincere and blameless until the day of Christ; being filled with the fruits of righteousness which come through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.

The strong’s word – heilikrines [1506] for sincere is very interesting. It means pure, sincere, unsullied. Looking more closely at this word, we see it is actually a compound word. The first part comes from heile (the sun’s ray), the second from krino (to judge). So the two parts together mean to be found pure when unfolded and examined by the sun’s light!

What a beautiful picture of a sincere heart.

The heart of one with a “sincere” devotion to the Lord will be found pure when examined and judged by the Son, the light of the world. It will be a heart that has willingly submitted to Lord’s searching and cleansing.

 

Psalm 139:23-24    Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

calla4hrto

Psalm 51:10-12    Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence and do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

___________________________________________________________________

From http://classic.net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Phi&chapter=1&verse=10

*sincere – heilikrines [1506]

1) pure, sincere, unsullied

2) found pure when unfolded and examined by the sun’s light

from heile (the sun’s ray) and 2919; judged by sunlight, i.e. tested as genuine (figuratively):-pure, sincere.

Related:
Whiter than Snow{prayer}

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Sincere Heart”

  1. watcat Says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. Karen Says:

    Thanks! 🙂

  3. Pure Sincere Hearts « Scripture Prayers Says:

    […] Related: A Sincere Heart Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterStumbleUponDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  4. Pure in Heart – Lift Up Your Heads! | Touching the King! Says:

    […] A Sincere Heart Pure Sincere […]

Leave a Reply

