The Lord is Never Late

Psalm 31:9   Be merciful to me, O LORD, for I am in distress; my eyes grow weak with sorrow, my soul and my body with grief.

Waiting is one of the hardest things for me to do. Especially if like David I am in distress crying out to God for mercy and deliverance. Why does it seem as if God delays in answering our cries at times? Why would the Lord make us wait?

I was in this place of distress recently, trying to remind myself that the Lord’s timing is perfect, He’s never late and never seems to be early, always right on time. That’s when the Lord used the following to encourage me.

Psalm 31:14-16    But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD, I say, “You are my God.” My times are in Your hand; deliver me from my enemies and from those who pursue me. Let Your face shine on Your servant; save me in Your unfailing love.

It was as if the Lord told me that my times were in His hands, my ups and downs, my whole life. He was asking me to surrender ALL of my times into His mighty hands. He was asking me to trust and acknowledge Him in ALL my ways and believe that He was working out ALL things for good.

Proverbs 3:5-6   Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Romans 8:28   And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. 

Psalm 31:23-24   Love the LORD, all His saints! The LORD preserves the faithful, but the proud He pays back in full. Be of good courage, and He will strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the LORD.

***

May the Lord’s face shine on you today
For our times are in His hand.

May He save and preserve you in His unfailing love.

Be of good courage and trust in the Lord
He will strengthen your heart!

***

 

AS I PRAYED … By D. McFalls

God looked down on me as I prayed 
My heart broken 
My eyes filled with tears 
God looked down on me as I prayed 
He saw my hopes 
He saw my dreams 
God listened as I prayed 
On my knees 
Hands lifted up, all my hopes cast upon him 
God said, it is enough 
You have prayed long and I have heard you, 
You have held fast and I will answer you. 
But the answers will come in my time 
I know you want it now 
But 
Just as unripe fruit makes you ill 
Some things must mature before they are ready 
If you have it before it’s time 
It will only cause you grief 
Trust me to know when the time is right 
Hold fast, have faith and wait 
For one by one your requests will be granted 
Yes I could send them all at once, 
But they would be more than you could handle 
You would be overwhelmed 
Sit still and wait for I have heard you 
Make yourself ready to receive my blessings 
Rest in my promise for you have not been forgotten 
Be at peace daughter, dry your tears 
You are bowed down under your burdens 
But I will lighten your load 
You are wandering though the desert 
I will reach down with my right hand and lead you out 
I know the storm is raging all around you 
Look away from it… Keep your eyes on me 
Trust me 
Rejoice 
Be not afraid, only believe.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “The Lord is Never Late”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    By Andrew

    Psalm 31 is a very personal Psalm full of ‘I’s and ‘you’s and I suppose that is the very basic understanding of trust. I put MY faith in MY God and I do so because I recognise that all the events and circumstances of MY life are in His hands.

    That is why we find the words of Psalm 31 v5 on the lips of Jesus as he breathes his last on the cross. Jesus trusting in His Father commits His spirit and we who confess Jesus as our Lord are compelled to follow in Jesus’ footsteps.

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    Wow! Andrew

    Lk 23:46 And Jesus, crying out with a loud voice, said, “Father, INTO YOUR HANDS I COMMIT MY SPIRIT.” Having said this, He breathed His last.

    Remembering Jesus’ last words and His unshakeable confidence in God the Father as He breathed His last on the cross, what an inspiring image of surrender and trust. 🙂

    Thanks for pointing out Ps 31:5!

  3. khollandsblog Says:

    We must wait, wait, wait on the Lord

    We must wait, wait, wait on the Lord

    And learn our lessons well

    In His timing He will tell us

    What to do, where to go, what to say

    http://pastorbillholdridge.wordpress.com/2009/01/22/on-waiting-when-god-is-silent/

  4. khollandsblog Says:

    There is a timing for ALL things in our lives, and there is SAFETY in being in God’s PERFECT TIMING…J. Meyer

  5. God’s Perfect Timing | Touching the King! Says:

    […] Related […]

Leave a Reply

