Following the King’s Beauty

Psalm 27:4-6    One thing I have asked from the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in His temple. For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock. Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at His tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the LORD.

What happens when we, like David, make beholding the beauty of the King in the place where He dwells(ZionPs 132:13) the ‘one thing’ that we seek?

We ‘taste and see’ and know that the Lord is good! –Ps 34:8
We know that His love is better than life –Ps 63:3
… more delightful than wine –Song 1:2

This creates a passion, a thirst like that of the deer panting for the streams of living water.

As the hart pants and longs for the water brooks, so I pant and long for You, O God. My inner self thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and behold the face of God? -Ps 42:1-2 AMP

A passion which follows hard[01692], clinging, cleaving closely to the Lord. Following hard enough to capture or overtake(Ps 63:8) that which is sought.

A passion to reach for and capture the prize, a passion to run the race with endurance.

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. –1 Cor 9:24 

… I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. -Phil 3:13-14

This passion of the hart is also the passion of the Bride for the Bridegroom.

Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth — For your love is better than wine. Because of the fragrance of your good ointments, Your name is ointment poured forth; Therefore the virgins love you. Draw me after you and let us run together! The king has brought me into his chambers.” “We will rejoice in you and be glad; We will extol your love more than wine. The upright love you.” -Song 1:2-4

This cry to be drawn away is the cry of the Bride for union and communion with her Beloved. There is an inexpressible glorious joy that results from even the thought of a love like this.

The result of this joy? This following hard after the King?

Psalm 63:1-8    O GOD, You are my God, earnestly will I seek You; my inner self thirsts for You, my flesh longs and is faint for You, in a dry and weary land where no water is.

2 So I have looked upon You in the sanctuary to see Your power and Your glory.

3 Because Your loving-kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise You.

4 So will I bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name.

5 My whole being shall be satisfied as with marrow and *fatnes[01880]; and my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips

6 When I remember You upon my bed and meditate on You in the night watches.

7 For You have been my help, and in the shadow of Your wings will I rejoice.

8 My whole being follows hard after You and clings closely to You; Your right hand upholds me.

Your whole being shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and your mouth shall show forth His praise!

You shall be upheld by the King’s mighty right hand.

_______________________________________________

My Cup Overflows!

Psalm 23:5 AMP     You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You *anoint[01878] my head with **oil; My [brimming] cup runs over.

 

 

** It is difficult for those living in a temperate climate to appreciate, but it was customary in hot climates to anoint the body with oil to protect it from excessive perspiration. When mixed with perfume, the oil imparted a delightfully refreshing and invigorating sensation. Athletes anointed their bodies as a matter of course before running a race. As the body, therefore, anointed with oil was refreshed, invigorated, and better fitted for action, so the Lord would anoint His “sheep” with the Holy Spirit, Whom oil symbolizes, to fit them to engage more freely in His service and run in the way He directs–in heavenly fellowship with Him.

Psalm 36:7-9     How priceless is Your unfailing love! Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of Your wings. They drink their fill of the *abundance[01880] of Your house; and You give them to drink of the river of Your delights. For with You is the fountain of life; In Your light we see light.

Jeremiah 31:7, 11-14    For thus says the LORD, “Sing aloud with gladness for Jacob, and shout among the chief of the nations; Proclaim, give praise and say, ‘O LORD, save Your people, the remnant of Israel.’ 

For the LORD has ransomed Jacob and redeemed him from the hand of him who was stronger than he. “They will come and shout for joy on the height of Zion, and they will be radiant over the bounty of the LORD– over the grain and the new wine and the oil, and over the young of the flock and the herd; And their life will be like a watered garden, and they will never languish again.  “Then the virgin will rejoice in the dance, and the young men and the old, together, for I will turn their mourning into joy and will comfort them and give them joy for their sorrow. “I will fill the soul of the priests with *abundance[01880], and My people will be satisfied with My goodness,” declares the LORD.

_______________________________________________
From http://net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Psa&chapter=23&verse=5
http://net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Psa&chapter=36&verse=8
http://net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Psa&chapter=63&verse=5
http://net.bible.org/verse.php?book=jer&chapter=31&verse=14

abundance -deshen [01880]1) fat ashes, fatness
1a) fatness
1a1) of fertility
1a2) of blessing (fig.)
1b) fat ashes (ashes of victims, mixed with the fat)


from 1878; the fat; abstractly fatness, i.e. (figuratively)
abundance; specifically the (fatty) ashes of sacrifices:-
ashes, fatness.

 

see HEBREW for dashen [01878]
1) to be fat, grow fat, become fat, become prosperous, anoint

_____________________________________________

Related
Follow Hard: The Passion of the Hart{article}
One Thing I Ask{article}

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Following the King’s Beauty”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    Psalm 63:1-5 MY VERSION O GOD, You are MY God,
    As the deer pants for the streams of living water
    I thirst for You Lord in a dry and weary land where no water is.

    I’ve beheld Your power and Your glory, Your beauty in Your sanctuary

    I’ve tasted and seen and I know Your love is better than life! I praise You LORD!

    I will bless You with my whole being lifting my hands in Your name

    My mouth will show forth Your praise and I will be saturated with fullness of joy in Your presence.

    My cup overflows!

Leave a Reply

