Restore the Joy

Psalm 10:1   Why do You stand afar off, O LORD? Why do You hide Yourself in times of trouble?

Is this your cry today? Are you in the midst of a trial or battle feeling alone as if the Lord is far off?

Why do You hide Yourself in times of trouble?   It’s not the trial or trouble that causes this cry, it’s the hiding of our Father’s face. Why would it ever feel as if our Father’s face was hidden to us? Especially if you remember His promises?

  • God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. -Ps 46:1
  • … lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. -Mt 28:20
  • When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. -Isa 43:2
  • He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say: “The LORD is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” -Heb 13:5-6

There may be more than one answer as to why it feels as if the Lord’s face is hidden. Could it be that it is not the Lord who has moved away?

Purify me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Make me to hear joy and gladness; let the bones which You have broken rejoice. Hide Your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. Create in me a clean{pure} heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence, and do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, and uphold me by Your generous Spirit. -Ps 51:7-12

 

Related:
Whiter than Snow{prayer}

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

