Lift Up Your Eyes

Lift up your eyes
Know where your help comes from.

I lift up my eyes to the hills — where does my help come from?
My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. -Ps 121:1-2

Know NOTHING is too hard for the Sovereign LORD!

Ah, Sovereign LORD, you have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and outstretched arm. Nothing is too hard for you. -Jere 32:17

Know that the Lord is good, His love and mercy never fail.

Praise the LORD. Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good; His love endures forever. -Ps 106:1

Know that the Lord is faithful.

The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it. -1 Thess 5:24

Know that the Lord watches over you.

The LORD watches over you—
the LORD is your shade at your right hand. – Ps 121:5

Lift up your eyes
Know where your help comes from
Be still
Know.

Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.
The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.
Selah -Ps 46:10-11

Stills

You cannot be still and know unless you lift up your eyes to I AM.

***

Listen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcHvkxFJy8E

I Lift My Eyes Up
Brian Doerksen (taken from Psalm 121)

I lift my eyes up to the mountains
Where does my help come from
My help comes from You
Maker of heaven, Creator of the earth
I lift my eyes up to the mountains
Where does my help come from
My help comes from You
Maker of heaven, Creator of the earth

Oh how I need You Lord
You are my only hope
You’re my only prayer
So I will wait for You
To come and rescue me
Come and give me life

***

Psalm 121:1-2    I lift up my eyes to the hills — where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.

Why does the psalmist say I lift up my eyes to the “hills” instead of the “Lord”? From the Netbible hills [02022], the majesty, height and power of the mountains reaching up to the heavens above the clouds led people to associate these hills or mountains with gods. So looking to the hills or mountains is another way to say look to the power and majesty of the gods — but doesn’t really specify which God? The amplified version sheds more light on this.

Psalm 121:1 AMP    I WILL lift up my eyes to the hills [around Jerusalem, to sacred Mount Zion and Mount Moriah]–From whence shall my help come?

The psalmist was saying I lift up my eyes to the hills, meaning the specific hills of Mount Zion and Moriah. These are not just any hills that the psalmist is looking up to, these hills are closely associated with the Lord Most High, the Maker of heaven and earth! Zion is the Lord’s chosen dwelling place forever, the place where He is enthroned.

Psalm 132:13-14   For the LORD has chosen Zion; He has desired it for His dwelling place: “This is My resting place forever; Here I will dwell, for I have desired it”.

Psalm 2:6   I have installed My King On My holy hill of Zion.

Psalm 9:11   Sing praises to the LORD, enthroned in Zion; proclaim among the nations what he has done.

Mount Moriah is where Abraham offered up Isaac, his only true beloved son, as a sacrifice to the Lord(Gen 22:1-19). Here the Lord himself provides the lamb for sacrifice. This points to the sacrifice of Jesus as the Lamb of God(Jn 1:29,36), God’s only beloved Son(Jn 3:16; Mt 3:17, 17:5).

Wow! The Psalmist by saying I lift up my eyes to the hills{ Mount Zion and Mount Moriah} is actually saying to focus on the Lord’s dwelling place, majesty and  presence and to remember Jesus the Lamb of God, His blood sacrifice. It’s only by the blood of the Lamb, Jesus,  that we can come into the presence of a Holy God and know where our help comes from – the Maker of heaven and earth, the Sovereign Lord.

Psalm 123:1   To You I lift up my eyes, O You who are enthroned in the heavens!
__________________________________________________________________________
Related:
Lift Up Your Eyes (article)

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Lift Up Your Eyes”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Thank you Karen, thank you for listening when He is calling.

Leave a Reply

