Lead Me to the Rock

The Lord is my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shield -Ps 28:7
Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I
My shelter, my strong tower -Ps 61:2-3
My refuge, my place of safety. -Ps 91:2

Incline Your ear, LORD, hear my cry
Lift me up from the miry clay
Set my feet upon the immovable, unshakeable Rock
Surrounded by Your loving-kindness and sweet mercy -Ps 32:10
There my heart rejoices and I sing Your praise. -Ps 40:1-3

Help me Lord, hear my cry
Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I
You are my hiding place, my impenetrable shield
My heart expectantly trusts and waits
Sheltered beneath Your wings
Filled with joy unspeakable
I am helped
My thankful heart sings.

I WAITED patiently and expectantly for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up out of a horrible pit [a pit of tumult and of destruction], out of the miry clay (froth and slime), and set my feet upon a rock, steadying my steps and establishing my goings. And He has put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many shall see and fear (revere and worship) and put their trust and confident reliance in the Lord. -Ps 40:1-3

You are a hiding place for me; You, Lord, preserve me from trouble, You surround me with songs and shouts of deliverance. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! … he who trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on the Lord shall be compassed about with mercy and with loving-kindness. -Ps 32:7, 10

O Lord, be gracious to us; we have waited [expectantly] for You. Be the arm [of Your servants–their strength and defense] every morning, our salvation in the time of trouble. -Isa 33:2

_______________________________________________________________________
Related:
My Impenetrable Shield (A Prayer)

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Lead Me to the Rock”

  1. Fervent Prayer | Says:

    […] Help me Lord, hear my cry Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I You are my hiding place, my impenetrable shield My heart expectantly trusts and waits Sheltered beneath Your wings Filled with joy unspeakable I am helped My thankful heart sings. – Karen Holland, Lead Me to the Rock […]

  2. Overwhelmed Heart | Touching the King! Says:

    […] Related: […]

  3. Fervent Prayer | Turning the Word Says:

    […] Help me Lord, hear my cry Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I You are my hiding place, my impenetrable shield My heart expectantly trusts and waits Sheltered beneath Your wings Filled with joy unspeakable I am helped My thankful heart sings. – Karen Holland, Lead Me to the Rock […]

Leave a Reply

