An Everlasting Song

Quote from Spurgeon’s Evening Devotional for August 28

“Sing, O barren.” -Isaiah 54:1

But what can I sing about? I cannot talk about the present, and even the past looks full of barrenness. Ah! I can sing of Jesus Christ. … Come, my soul, heavy laden thou wast once, and thou didst lose thy burden there. Go to Calvary again. Perhaps that very cross which gave thee life may give thee fruitfulness. What is my barrenness? It is the platform for his fruit-creating power. What is my desolation? It is the black setting for the sapphire of his everlasting love. I will go in poverty, I will go in helplessness, I will go in all my shame and backsliding, I will tell him that I am still his child, and in confidence in his faithful heart, even I, the barren one, will sing and cry aloud.

Psalm 30:5 For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning.

Joy after weeping in tears
Morning light breaking thru the darkest night.

Sing, O, barren, sing
There is a song that never dies
A crown of everlasting joy and delight.

The desert will rejoice and blossom, as the rose
Barrenness a platform for His fruit creating power
Desolation the black-setting for the sapphire of His everlasting love.

Sing, O, barren sing
The song that never dies.

Jesus your strength
Your song
Your everlasting delight.

His praise endures forever –Ps 111:10
His word forever settled in heaven –Ps 119:89

An everlasting song of praise to awake the dawn
… and vanquish the night.

Isaiah 35:1,8,10 The wilderness and the wasteland shall be glad for them, And the desert shall rejoice and blossom as the rose … And a highway will be there; it will be called the Way of Holiness. The unclean will not journey on it; it will be for those who walk in that Way; wicked fools will not go about on it. … and the ransomed of the LORD will return{in this Way}. They will enter Zion with singing; everlasting joy will crown their heads. Gladness and joy will overtake them, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.

Isaiah 54:1,11 Sing, O barren woman, you who never bore a child; burst into song, shout for joy, you who were never in labour; because more are the children of the desolate woman than of her who has a husband,” says the LORD. … O you afflicted one, Tossed with tempest, and not comforted, Behold, I will lay your stones with colorful gems, And lay your foundations with sapphires.

Exodus 15:2 The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; He is my God, and I will praise{beautify,adorn with praise} Him; My father’s God, and I will exalt Him.

Psalm 57:7-9 My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast;
I will sing and give praise.
Awake, my glory! Awake, lute and harp! I will awaken the dawn.
I will praise You, O Lord, among the peoples;
I will sing to You among the nations.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

