Hard Pressed

2 Corinthians 4:7But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

Lord Jesus in the hard times help me to remember, when I am weak You are strong. Help me to rely on, lean on and trust in You, both in and out of hard pressed times. Help me to find joy in knowing that when things are hard for me, Your goodness will always shine through. For even the darkness is not dark to You!

After I prayed the above prayer, I looked up the phrase Even the darkness is not dark to You from Ps 139:12.

The word study gives the sense that there is NO darkness dark enough to hide you from the Lord’s sight or reach. This brought a smile to my face. 🙂

But through the verse before the Lord really touched my heart with the joy only He can bring!

If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, And the light around me will be night,” -Ps 139:11.

Another word for overwhelm here is crush! It’s as if the Lord told me not to worry about the overwhelming darkness – there is no circumstance dark enough to crush me or hide me from the Lord’s sight or hand ….

Even there Your hand will lead me, And Your right hand will lay hold of me. -Ps 139:10

This I declare of the LORD: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; He is my God, and I am trusting Him.-Ps 91:2 NLT

Word Study

From NetBible Ps 139:12

  • NASB = Even the darkness is not dark to You, And the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to You.
  • Net = even the darkness is not too dark for You to see
  • NLT = but even in darkness I cannot hide from You

From NetBible Ps 139:11

  • NASB = If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, And the light around me will be night,”
    • overwhelm[07779] = to crush, to fall upon

From NetBible Ps 139:10

  • NASB = Even there Your hand will lead me, And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
    • hand[03027] = strength, power
    • lay hold[0270] = grasp, take possession of
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Hard Pressed”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    Steve:
    Great devotion! Here are some thoughts:

    2 Corinthians 4:8
    We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair. . . .

    Translates: We are crowded on every side but not closely hemmed in, we are at a loss but not utterly at a loss.

    Hard-pressed
    thlibo
    NT:2346 thlibo (thlee’-bo); akin to the base of NT:5147; to crowd (literally or figuratively): KJV – afflict, narrow, throng, suffer tribulation, trouble.

    crushed
    stenochoreo
    NT:4729 stenochoreo (sten-okh-o-reh’-o); from the same as NT:4730; to hem in closely, i.e. (figuratively) cramp: KJV – distress, straiten.

    perplexed
    aporeo
    NT:639 aporeo (ap-or-eh’-o); from a compound of NT:1 (as a negative particle) and the base of NT:4198; to have no way out, i.e. be at a loss (mentally): KJV – (stand in) doubt, be perplexed.

    despair
    exaporeomai
    NT:1820 exaporeomai (ex-ap-or-eh’-om-ahee); middle voice from NT:1537 and NT:639; to be utterly at a loss, i.e. despond: KJV – (in) despair.

    The “treasure in earthen vessels” spoken of in 2 Corinthians 4:7 is found in verse 6. For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.

    All that God is, his glory, was manifested in the person (face) of Jesus. God has “shone” the light of that knowledge in our hearts; our earthen vessel. It is a treasure! The reason we have this treasure is to show that God is the one who is all-powerful not us. That is why we are crowded, but not hemmed in, at a loss but not utterly at a loss—persecuted but not forsaken, struck down but not destroyed. Verse 10 finishes the thought. . . . always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body.

    We are hard-pressed, perplexed, persecuted, and struck down so that Jesus may be exalted. We are not crushed, not in despair, not forsaken, and not destroyed so that Jesus may be exalted. It’s all about Jesus being exalted!! Ultimately, Jesus is the treasure!

    • khollandsblog Says:

      oooo!

      I love this!!!!

      [[The “treasure in earthen vessels” spoken of in 2 Corinthians 4:7 is found in verse 6. For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.

      All that God is, his glory, was manifested in the person (face) of Jesus. God has “shone” the light of that knowledge in our hearts; our earthen vessel. It is a treasure! ]]

      🙂
      Karen

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    Gayle:
    Thanks for sharing-that is so very like our Jesus to manifest His promise to you, Karen, ‘walking in joy unspeakable & full of glory’! I speak blessings into & over you my precious Sister. Holy Spirit gave me Is.41:10-13 back a few months ago and I have been sharing it with those whom He points out. They are so excited by the time they get to the 13th verse they cant help but believe, “God is helping them/you/me.” HALLELUJAH TO CHRIST JESUS OUR KING WHO HAS DELIVERED US OUT OF DARKNESS AND BROUGHT US INTO HIS GLORIOUS LIGHT! Love you ALL

    • khollandsblog Says:

      Isaiah 41:10-13
      Fear not, for I am with you;
      Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
      I will strengthen you,
      Yes, I will help you,
      I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’
      11 “ Behold, all those who were incensed against you
      Shall be ashamed and disgraced;
      They shall be as nothing,
      And those who strive with you shall perish.
      12 You shall seek them and not find them—
      Those who contended with you.
      Those who war against you
      Shall be as nothing,
      As a nonexistent thing.
      13 For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand,
      Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’

    • khollandsblog Says:

      🙂
      Gayle this song – it’s His faithfulness and Isa 41:10-13!

      He’s Always Been Faithful by Sara Groves

      Morning by morning I wake up to find
      The power and comfort of God’s hand in mine
      Season by season I watch Him, amazed
      In awe of the mystery of His perfect ways
      All I have need of, His hand will provide
      He’s always been faithful to me.

      I can’t remember a trial or a pain
      He did not recycle to bring me gain
      I can’t remember one single regret
      In serving God only, and trusting His hand
      All I have need of, His hand will provide
      He’s always been faithful to me.

      This is my anthem, this is my song
      The theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long
      God has been faithful, He will be again
      His loving compassion, it knows no end
      All I have need of, His hand will provide
      He’s always been faithful, He’s always been faithful
      He’s always been faithful to me.

      Prayer:
      Morning by morning let us remember His great faithfulness and be strengthened with the power and comfort of His mighty right hand. May God bless each of us with unwavering faith in His promises today.

      1 Thess 5:24 … The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.

  3. khollandsblog Says:

    Psalm 118:5 NIV
    When hard pressed, I cried to the LORD;
    he brought me into a spacious place.

    http://bible.cc/psalms/118-5.htm

    Barnes’ Notes on the Bible
    And set me in a large place – I was before pressed on every side; sorrows compassed me around; I could not move; I had no liberty. Now he gave me space and freedom on every side, so that I could move without obstruction or pain.

    ***
    Psalm 138:3
    NKJV … In the day when I cried out, You answered me,
    And made me bold with strength in my soul.

  4. khollandsblog Says:

    Tweet:
    No circumstance is dark enough to crush or hide U from His sight or hand. -Ps 139:10-12

  5. khollandsblog Says:

    Hard Pressed{archives}

Leave a Reply

