Why Downcast, O my Soul?

Psalm 42:6 AMP … O my God, my life[soul] is cast down upon me [and I find the burden more than I can bear]; therefore will I [earnestly] remember You from the land of the Jordan [River] and the [summits of Mount] Hermon, from the little mountain Mizar.

What do you do when you find that your soul is downcast? When it seems your life is burdensome – more than you can bear?

Studying this psalm gives an answer and hope. Look what the psalmist does:

I will earnestly remember You

The Lord my Rock(from xref)
From the end of the earth I will cry to You, When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. -Ps 61:2

The name of the LORD is a strong tower; The righteous run to it and are safe(set safely on high). -Prov 18:10

  • *From NetBible Prov 18:10
    “running” to the Lord refers to a whole-hearted and unwavering trust in God’s protection

I will remember and
Run to You with whole-hearted, unwavering trust.
I will run to You the Lord my God, my Savior
My Strong Tower
My everlasting Rock!

Daily I will run to You.

For each day You bear my burdens
AND carry me in Your arms!

Blessed be the Lord, praise God our savior! Day after day He bears our burdens and carries us in His arms. -Ps 68:19

Isaiah 26:4 AMP … So trust in the Lord (commit yourself to Him, lean on Him, hope confidently in Him) forever; for the Lord God is an everlasting Rock [the Rock of Ages]].

***
After I wrote this, I heard this song on the way to work!
🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

