Samson’s Riddle

Judges 14:14So he[Samson] said to them:

“Out of the eater came something to eat,
And out of the strong came something sweet.”
Now for three days they could not explain the riddle.

The answer:

Judges 14:8 … When he returned later to take her, he turned aside to look at the carcass of the lion; and behold, a swarm of bees and honey were in the body of the lion.

Judges 14:17-18Now she had wept on him the seven days while their feast lasted. And it happened on the seventh day that he told her, because she pressed him so much. Then she explained the riddle to the sons of her people. 18 So the men of the city said to him on the seventh day before the sun went down:

“What is sweeter than honey? And what is stronger than a lion?”

And he said to them:

“If you had not plowed with my heifer, you would not have solved my riddle!”

—>A honeycomb in the body of a dead lion.

The Lion of the tribe of Judah has triumphed!
Tho He was slain as a Lamb
He lives!
He speaks.
His words sweeter than honey!

How sweet are Your words to my taste! Yes, sweeter than honey to my mouth! -Ps 119:103

Revelation 5:1-6 … And I saw in the right hand of Him who sat on the throne a scroll written inside and on the back, sealed with seven seals. 2 Then I saw a strong angel proclaiming with a loud voice, “Who is worthy to open the scroll and to loose its seals?” 3 And no one in heaven or on the earth or under the earth was able to open the scroll, or to look at it.
4 So I wept much, because no one was found worthy to open and read the scroll, or to look at it. 5 But one of the elders said to me, “Do not weep. Behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has prevailed to open the scroll and to loose its seven seals.” 

6 And I looked, and behold, in the midst of the throne and of the four living creatures, and in the midst of the elders, stood a Lamb as though it had been slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God sent out into all the earth.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Samson’s Riddle”

  1. Lou Says:

    I just added this webpage to my feed reader, wonderful stuff. Cannot get enough! 533286

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    Out of the eater came something to eat
    Out of the strong came something sweet
    -Jdg 14:5-9

    Out of the eater(the lion) came something to eat(the honey)
    Out of the strong(the lion) came something sweet(the honey)

  3. khollandsblog Says:

    Answer to the riddle v18:
    “What is sweeter than honey? And what is stronger than a lion?”

    The Lord’s words are sweeter than honey!
    How sweet are Your words to my taste! Yes, sweeter than honey to my mouth! -Ps 119:103

    The Spirit of the LORD’s empowerment is stronger than any lion
    And the Spirit of the LORD came mightily upon him(Samson), and he tore the lion apart as one would have torn apart a young goat, though he had nothing in his hand. But he did not tell his father or his mother what he had done. -Jdg 14:6

    Then the angel who was speaking with me returned and roused me, as a man who is awakened from his sleep. 2 He said to me, “What do you see?” And I said, “I see, and behold, a lampstand all of gold with its bowl on the top of it, and its seven lamps on it with seven spouts belonging to each of the lamps which are on the top of it; 3 also two olive trees by it, one on the right side of the bowl and the other on its left side.”

    4 Then I said to the angel who was speaking with me saying, “What are these, my lord?”

    5 So the angel who was speaking with me answered and said to me, “Do you not know what these are?” And I said, “No, my lord.”

    6 Then he said to me, “This is(signifies) the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel saying, ‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ says the LORD of hosts. -Zech 4:1-6

  4. Shine | Touching the King! Says:

    […] to Samson’s Riddle Judge 14:18: “What is sweeter than honey? And what is stronger than a […]

  5. Keep Your Shield and Sword Anointed! | Touching the King! Says:

    […] Answer to Samson’s Riddle Judge 14:18: “What is sweeter than honey? And what is stronger than a […]

Leave a Reply

