Altogether Lovely

Song 5:16His mouth is sweetness itself; He is altogether lovely. This is my lover, this my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem.

Jesus my Savior
He is altogether lovely
The fairest of ten thousand to my soul
By His blood I’m cleansed white as snow
Made whole -Isa1:18;Ps51:7
The One above all others most precious to me
Jesus Christ my Lord
His love experienced and revealed
Better than life -Ps 63:2-3
The fairest of ten thousand
Seek His face
Taste and see -Ps 34:8
Life itself
He is altogether lovely to behold.

Song 5:10My lover is radiant and ruddy, outstanding among ten thousand.

Psalm 27:4, 8-9 AMP … One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek, inquire for, and [insistently] require: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence] all the days of my life, to behold and gaze upon the beauty [the sweet attractiveness and the delightful loveliness] of the Lord and to meditate, consider, and inquire in His temple. … You have said, Seek My face [inquire for and require My presence as your vital need]. My heart says to You, Your face (Your presence), Lord, will I seek, inquire for, and require [of necessity and on the authority of Your Word]. Hide not Your face from me; turn not Your servant away in anger, You Who have been my help! Cast me not off, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation!

Oh, to behold the Father’s glory in the face of Christ!
Jesus, please give me eyes for You alone
My heart trusts in You
“Your face, O LORD, I do seek.”

The LORD is my strength and my [impenetrable]shield; My heart trusts in[relies on, and confidently leans on] Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart leaps for joy, and I burst out in songs of thanksgiving. -Ps 28:7

Do not hide Your face from me
O LORD, I plead.

Psalm 135:3 AMP … Praise the Lord! For the Lord is good; sing praises to His name, for He is gracious and lovely!

Word Study

From NetBible Song 5:16

  • altogether lovely[04261] = delightful, object of desire, precious

From NetBible Song 5:10

  • radiant[06703] = dazzling, glowing, clear, bright
  • **footnote 4 “outstanding.” The participle דָּגוּל (dagul) functions as a predicate adjective: “My beloved is…outstanding among ten thousand.” The verb דָּגַל (dagal) is relatively rare, being derived from the noun דֶּגֶל (degel, “banner”) which often refers to a military standard which, when lifted up, was conspicuous for all to see (Num 2:3-4; 10:14-15). The verb דָּגַל only occurs three other times, all referring to raising military banners for all to see (Ps 20:6; Song 6:4, 10). Song 5:10 uses the term figuratively (hypocatastasis) to denote “outstanding” (HALOT 213 s.v. דֶּגֶל). This sense is closely related to the cognate Akkadian verb dagalu “to look, contemplate” and the noun diglu “eyesight, view (what is looked at).” Like a banner lifted high, he attracted the attention of all who looked at him.

From NetBible Heb 1:3

  • radinace[541] = reflected brightness, shining forth
    *reflected brightness of Christ in that He perfectly reflects the majesty of God

From NetBible Ps 135:3

  • gracious[05273] = pleasant, delightful, sweet, lovely, agreeable

From NetBible Jn 1:14

  • grace[5485] = that which affords joy, pleasure, delight, thanks, gratitude

From NetBible Ps 28:7

  • My heart leaps for joy[05937] = greatly rejoice, triumph
  • songs of thanksgiving[03034] =songs of praise, confession(acknowledge name of God)

Related:
The Word Became Flesh
One Thing I Ask{article}

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Altogether Lovely”

  1. One Thing | Touching the King! Says:

    […] Related […]

Leave a Reply

