John 8 – Jesus as Judge

John 8:11 … “No one, sir,” she said.
“Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

John 8:15 … You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no-one.

Question – Jesus did not condemn this woman caught in adultery –> does this mean that He did not “judge” her? That He does not judge us?

From NetBible Jn 8:11

  • condemn[2632] = to give judgment against, to judge worthy of punishment

From NetBible Jn 8:15

  • judge[2919] = to preside over with the power of giving judicial decisions –> to condemn, punish or vindicate, set free

*What is the meaning of Jesus’ statement “I do not judge anyone”? It is clear that Jesus did judge (even in the next verse). The point is that he didn’t practice the same kind of judgment that the Pharisees did. Their kind of judgment was condemnatory. They tried to condemn people. Jesus did not come to judge the world, but to save it (3:17). Nevertheless, and not contradictory to this, the coming of Jesus did bring judgment, because it forced people to make a choice. Would they accept Jesus or reject him? Would they come to the light or shrink back into the darkness? As they responded, so were they judged – just as 3:19-21 previously stated. One’s response to Jesus determines one’s eternal destiny.

Jesus stating “Neither do I condemn you” indicates that He did judge the woman caught in adultery and decided not to punish her. As the footnote in v15 indicates – Jesus did not practice the same kind of judgement as the Pharisees. 

Seems the woman’s choice to recognize Jesus as the Messiah, her Master is part of the reason Jesus did not condemn or punish her.

From NetBible Jn 8:11

  • sir[2962] =
    • he to whom a person or thing belongs, about which he has power of deciding; master, lord
    • the owner; one who has control of the person, the master
    • is a title of honour expressive of respect and reverence,
      with which servants greet their master
    • this title is given to: God, the Messiah

Part of recognizing Jesus as Savior is recognizing your sin and turning from it. Jesus saw the woman’s heart and gives the additional instruction – “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

John 3:16-21 NIV …  For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. 19 This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil. 20 Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. 21 But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God.

John 12:47-18 NIV … If anyone hears my words but does not keep them, I do not judge that person. For I did not come to judge the world, but to save the world. 48 There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words; the very words I have spoken will condemn them at the last day.

Related:
John 8 – Notes

***

John 8 NIV
1 but Jesus went to the Mount of Olives.

2 At dawn he appeared again in the temple courts, where all the people gathered around him, and he sat down to teach them. 3 The teachers of the law and the Pharisees brought in a woman caught in adultery. They made her stand before the group 4 and said to Jesus, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery. 5 In the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?” 6 They were using this question as a trap, in order to have a basis for accusing him.

But Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with his finger. 7 When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” 8 Again he stooped down and wrote on the ground.

9 At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left, with the woman still standing there. 10 Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

11 “No one, sir,” she said.

“Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

Dispute Over Jesus’ Testimony

12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

13 The Pharisees challenged him, “Here you are, appearing as your own witness; your testimony is not valid.”

14 Jesus answered, “Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid, for I know where I came from and where I am going. But you have no idea where I come from or where I am going. 15 You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no one.16 But if I do judge, my decisions are true, because I am not alone. I stand with the Father, who sent me. 17 In your own Law it is written that the testimony of two witnesses is true. 18 I am one who testifies for myself; my other witness is the Father, who sent me.”

19 Then they asked him, “Where is your father?”

“You do not know me or my Father,”Jesus replied. “If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” 20 He spoke these words while teaching in the temple courts near the place where the offerings were put. Yet no one seized him, because his hour had not yet come.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “John 8 – Jesus as Judge”

  1. Judge Not? | Touching the King! Says:

    […] Related […]

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    More:
    Jesus Came to Save NOT Judge!

Leave a Reply

