As the Deer

Psalm 42:1-2As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?

From NetBible Ps 42:1-2

  • The psalmist recalls how he once worshiped in the Lord’s temple, but laments that he is now oppressed by enemies in a foreign land.
  • pants[06165](with thirst)= to long for, to cry for
  • thirsts[06770] = parched, suffer dryness
    *A future thirst is coming due to the lack of hearing …
    “Behold, the days are coming,” says the Lord GOD, “That I will send a famine on the land, Not a famine of bread, Nor a thirst for water, But of hearing the words of the LORD. -Amos 8:11
  • “When can i go meet with God?” = When will I go and appear [to] the face of God- in His presence?

As the deer pants for the streams, O Lord
So my soul pants for You
How lovely is Your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty
My soul yearns, even faints for Your courts
My heart and my flesh cry out for You, the living God
O to sing for joy before my King Jesus!

How blessed are those who dwell in Your house! They are ever praising You. -Ps84:4

Better is one day in Your courts than a thousand elsewhere! -Ps84:10

As the deer, O LORD, my soul longs
Even faints for Your courts
O to dwell in the joy of Your presence -Ps 16:11,21:6,43:3-5,46:4
I long to be ever praising You
Jesus my King!
-Ps84

Psalm 43:3-5 NASB
3 O send out Your light and Your truth, let them lead me;
Let them bring me to Your holy hill
And to Your dwelling places.
4 Then I will go to the altar of God,
To God my exceeding joy;
And upon the lyre(harp) I shall praise You, O God, my God.
5 Why are you in despair, O my soul?
And why are you disturbed within me?
Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him,
The help of my countenance and my God.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “As the Deer”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    My soul longs and even faints for the courts of the Lord
    Lord, my heart and my flesh cry out for you, O God
    You’re my sun and my shield, you give grace and glory
    No good thing will you withhold from those who seek your face

    Just as the deer pants for the water brook, so pants my soul for You, O God

    I set my heart on a pilgrimage through the valley of weeping
    I will go
    I set my heart on a pilgrimage until I appear before God in Zion

    I was made to dwell with You
    I was made to live with You
    Only You can satisfy

    Just as the deer pants for the water brook, so pants my soul for You, O God

Leave a Reply

