Fruit for Eternal Life

John 4
31 Meanwhile the disciples were urging Him, saying, “Rabbi, eat.” 32 But He said to them, “I have food to eat that you do not know about.” 33 So the disciples were saying to one another, “No one brought Him anything to eat, did he?” 34 Jesus *said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me and to accomplish His work. 35 Do you not say, ‘There are yet four months, and then comes the harvest’? Behold, I say to you, lift up your eyes and look on the fields, that they are white for harvest. 36 Already he who reaps is receiving wages and is gathering fruit for life eternal; so that he who sows and he who reaps may rejoice together. 37 For in this case the saying is true, ‘One sows and another reaps.’ 38 I sent you to reap that for which you have not labored; others have labored and you have entered into their labor.”

Questions:

  • In the previous verses Jn4:1-30 the discussion is about drinking, now the discussion has turned to food – is this a coincidence?

    14 but whoever drinks of the water{living water} that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.
    -Jn4:14

    35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.” …
    40 “For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.” …
    51 I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.”
    -Jn6:35,40,51

    37 Now on the last day, the great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink. 38 He who believes in Me, as the Scripture said, ‘From his innermost being will flow rivers of living water.’” 39 But this He spoke of the Spirit, whom those who believed in Him were to receive; for the Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.
    -Jn7:37-39

    24 “Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.” -Jn5:24

    He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord. -Deut 8:3

  • What food was Jesus talking about?
    • How is this food(v34) related to Jesus?
    • How do you eat this food? Drink this water?
  • What is fruit for eternal life?

    From NetBible Jn 4:36

    • fruit[2590] =
      • fruit from a tree or vine
        “You will know them(good/bad trees) by their fruits. Grapes are not gathered from thorn bushes nor figs from thistles, are they?” -Mt7:16
        .
        Abide in Me(Christ), and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. -Jn15:4-5
        .
      • fruit of loins = children/souls
        The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life, And he who is wise wins souls -Prov 11:30
        .
        Produce fruit in keeping with repentance. -Mt3:8
        .
      • praises, which are presented to God as a thank offering
        Through Him then, let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that give thanks to His name. -Heb 13:15
        .
      • Those who accept the word bear fruit
        “And those are the ones on whom seed was sown on the good soil; and they hear the word and accept it and bear fruit, thirty, sixty, and a hundredfold.” -Mk 4:20
        .
        “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, And do not return there without watering the earth, And making it bear and sprout, And furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater; 11 So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. -Isa55:10-11
        .
      • Those in the Spirit bear fruit
        But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. -Gal 5:22-23
        .
        (for the fruit of the Light consists in all goodness and righteousness and truth), trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord. -Eph 5:9-10
        .
  • How is fruit for eternal life related to worship in Spirit and Truth?
    • Both need belief in Christ(Truth – Living Word)
    • Both need to have received the Holy Spirit
      Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching.My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. 24 Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me. -Jn14:23-24
      .
    • Both need to abide in Christ(Truth – Living Word) and obey God’s voice
      If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. -Jn15:7-8
      .
      … his sheep follow him because they know his voice. -Jn 10:4
      .
    • Both need to be led by the Holy Spirit
      For all who are being led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. -Ro 8:14
      .
    • Both honor and glorify the Lord
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

