Jesus My Soul Longs For You!

Jesus I long for You
As the deer pants for streams of water
So my soul longs for You
My soul longs for You, the Living God.

Jesus my one desire
Living water to my soul, only You can satisfy
Draw me, draw me away in Your steadfast love
My lips will brim praises like fountains
-Ps87:7
And I will follow hard after You.

Related:
Keep Reaching
Draw Me Away
.

Word Study
.
From NetBible Ps 42:1-2
As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God; When can I come and appear before God?

  • soul pants{thirsts}[06165] = longs for
  • thirsts[06770] = suffer thirst, parching as if in the desert

.
Form NetBible Psalm 84:2
My soul longs, yes, even faints For the courts of the LORD; My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.

  • soul longs[03700] = desperately wants, yearns, pines after
  • faints[03615] = desperately wants, yearns

.
From NetBible Ps 63:1
O God, You are my God; Earnestly I seek You; My soul thirsts[06770] for You, my flesh yearns for You, In a dry and weary land where there is no water.

  • earnestly[07836] = look early or diligently for
  • yearns[03642] = pines after, faints with longing.

.

From NetBible Ps 63:3-4,8
Because experiencing Your loyal love is better than life itself, my lips will glorify You. For this reason, I will bless You as long as I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name. … My soul follows hard after You; Your right hand upholds me.

  • The psalmist does not speak here of divine loyal love in some abstract sense, but of loyal love revealed and experienced.
  • my lips glorify[07623] = brim praises like fountains
  • follow hard[01692] = a determination to cling, cleave, be joined, to run after with determination to overtake and capture

.
From NetBible Song 1:4
Draw me after you, let us make haste, let us run together! Let the king bring me into his chambers. We rejoice and delight in you; we will praise your love more than wine. How right they are to adore you!

  • Draw[04900] = to lead
    *The verb מָשַׁךְ (mashakh, “draw”) is a figurative expression (hypocatastasis) which draws an implied comparison between the physical acting of leading a person with the romantic action of leading a person in love. Elsewhere it is used figuratively of a master gently leading an animal with leather cords (Hos 11:4) and of a military victor leading his captives (Jer 31:3). The point of comparison might be that the woman wants to be the willing captive of the love of her beloved, that is, a willing prisoner of his love.
  • run after[07323] = to eagerly hurry, chase
  • rejoice[01523] = spin, circle around(dance, leap) in joy
  • be glad[08055] = be merry, to brighten up, shine in joy
  • everlasting love[0160] = God’s love to His people
  • lovingkindness[02617] = unfailing love, goodness, mercy, kindness, faithfulness
Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Jesus My Soul Longs For You!”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    As the deer pants for the water
    My soul thirsts for You
    Lord I need You
    Like I need water
    My soul thirsts for You

    As the deer pants for the water
    My soul thirsts for You
    Lord I need You
    Like I need water
    My soul thirsts for You

    Day by day
    More and more
    My heart longs for You alone
    I will search desperately
    Precious Lord, You’re all I need

    As the deer pants for the water
    My soul thirsts for You
    Lord I need You
    Like I need water
    My soul thirsts for You

    Day by day
    More and more
    My heart longs for You alone
    I will search desperately
    Precious Lord, You’re all I need

    As the deer pants for the water
    My soul thirsts for You
    My soul thirsts for You
    My soul thirsts for You

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    http://classic.net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Psa&chapter=143&verse=8

    NIV Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.

    NET May I hear about your loyal love in the morning, for I trust in you. Show me the way I should go, because I long for you

    http://classic.net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Psa&chapter=24&verse=4

    To You I lift up my soul ==> I {long for, desire strongly} You!

Leave a Reply

