Lifter of My Head

Psalm3_3
Image from 365Promises

Psalm 3:1-4 AMP … LORD, HOW they are increased who trouble me! Many are they who rise up against me. Many are saying of me, There is no help for him in God.
Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

But You, O Lord, are a shield for me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. With my voice I cry to the Lord, and He hears and answers me out of His holy hill.
Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

Often when I’m discouraged and feel like I have no strength of my own to lift my head, I think if only I can lift my eyes to the Lord Jesus – He will lift my head. The Lord is faithful, one time the Lord gave me the following song and did just that!

Jesus: The Lifter of My Head

I will lift my eyes past the hills
I will lift my eyes past the mountains

Psalm 121:1-2 AMP … I WILL lift up my eyes to the hills [around Jerusalem, to sacred Mount Zion and Mount Moriah]–From whence shall my help come? … My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.

And trust in You, Jesus
To lift my head.

My glory, my shield
Jesus the lifter of my head
My glory, my shield
Jesus, I’ll trust in You
To lift my head

Past the hills
Past the mountains
Jesus, I’ll trust in You
To lift my head.

From ODB-Lift Up Your Eyes

Lift up your eyes, discouraged one,
The Lord your help will be;
New strength will come from Him who said,
“For rest, come unto Me.” —Anon.

Psalm 28:7 AMP … The Lord is my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shield; my heart trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song will I praise Him.

.
Related:
Jesus: The Lifter of My Head
The Strength of Our Anchor
Lift Up Your Eyes{article}

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

