Presence

Psalm 42:1-5 NKJV
1 As the deer pants for the water brooks, So pants my soul for You, O God. 2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? 3 My tears have been my food day and night, While they continually say to me, “Where is your God?” 4 When I remember these things, I pour out my soul within me. For I used to go with the multitude; I went with them to the house of God, With the voice of joy and praise, With a multitude that kept a pilgrim feast. 5 Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him For the help of His countenance.

 

What do you long for? How vital is the Lord’s presence to you individually /corporately?

What would happen if Jesus appeared in a visible tangible way, in your midst, during your gatherings. What impact would His presence have?

Without His presence isn’t singing is just singing, preaching and teaching mere words, and everything else just another meeting?

Take another look at the above scripture. David had a passion in his heart for the presence of the living God. He compared this passion to a deer panting for water brooks. Think about this for a moment.

The deer needs the water to have life. The deer also needs to continually return to the water brook to drink. One drink is not enough to sustain life. The deer’s very life depends upon it’s ability to continually drink.

*

Also look at where David places all of his hope(v5) => in the help of the Lord’s countenance. Isn’t this another way of saying all of his hope was in the saving acts of the Lord’s tangible presence /intervention?

Check your heart today – where is your passion? How hard are you seeking the Lord’s tangible presence /intervention? Individually /corporately? How much of your hope is placed in the Lord’s tangible presence /intervention?

Deuteronomy 4:29 AMP
29 But if from there you will seek (inquire for and require as necessity) the Lord your God, you will find Him if you [truly] seek Him with all your heart [and mind] and soul and life.

2 Chronicles 16:9 NIV
9 For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him. …

.

 @Khollandsblog
.
Tweets:
Consider Psalm 42:1-5 => What do you long for? How vital is the Lord’s presence to you individually/corporately? http://wp.me/spbBB-presence

Related:
Presence{article}

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

