Pulling Down Strongholds

2 Corinthians 10:3-5 NLT
3 We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. 4 We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. 5 We destroy every proud obstacle[imagination] that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.

The above scripture keeps coming up in relation to spiritual warfare. I like the above version because it makes clear what these strongholds are
=> human reasonings and false arguments.

From NetBible 2 Cor 10:4

  • *Paul is referring here to the false arguments of his opponents, calling them figuratively “strongholds”.

From NetBible 2 Cor 10:5

  • imaginations[3053] = a reasoning: such as is hostile to the Christian faith, all arrogance

The only “offensive” weapon => the sword = the word of God

Ephesians 6:17 AMP
17 And take the helmet of salvation and the sword that the Spirit wields, which is the Word of God.

It is by bearing witness to and obeying the Truth that strongholds are pulled down.

John 18:36-37 AMP
36 Jesus answered, My kingdom (kingship, royal power) belongs not to this world. If My kingdom were of this world, My followers would have been fighting to keep Me from being handed over to the Jews. But as it is, My kingdom is not from here (this world); [it has no such origin or source].
37 Pilate said to Him, Then You are a King? Jesus answered, You say it! [You speak correctly!] For I am a King. [Certainly I am a King!] This is why I was born, and for this I have come into the world, to bear witness to the Truth. Everyone who is of the Truth [who is a friend of the Truth, who belongs to the Truth] hears and listens to My voice.

Jesus Prays:
John 17:14-20 AMP
14 I have given and delivered to them Your word (message) and the world has hated them, because they are not of the world [do not belong to the world], just as I am not of the world.
15 I do not ask that You will take them out of the world, but that You will keep and protect them from the evil one.
16 They are not of the world (worldly, belonging to the world), [just] as I am not of the world.
17 Sanctify them [purify, consecrate, separate them for Yourself, make them holy] by the Truth; Your Word is Truth.
18 Just as You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.
19 And so for their sake and on their behalf I sanctify (dedicate, consecrate) Myself, that they also may be sanctified (dedicated, consecrated, made holy) in the Truth.
20 Neither for these alone do I pray [it is not for their sake only that I make this request], but also for all those who will ever come to believe in (trust in, cling to, rely on) Me through their word and teaching …

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Pulling Down Strongholds”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    Prayer:
    Thank You Lord that Your Words are Spirit and Life. Please renew my mind with Your Word. Thank You that as You do this any sorrow I have will flee; for Your word rejoices my heart and fills me with hope! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

    Jn 6:63; Heb 4:12; Ps 19:8; Rom 15:13

Leave a Reply

