Who Do You Say I AM?

Exodus 3:13-15 AMPC … And Moses said to God, Behold, when I come to the Israelites and say to them, The God of your fathers has sent me to you, and they say to me, What is His name? What shall I say to them?
14 And God said to Moses, I Am Who I Am and What I Am, and I Will Be What I Will Be; and He said, You shall say this to the Israelites: I Am has sent me to you!
15 God said also to Moses, This shall you say to the Israelites: The Lord, the God of your fathers, of Abraham, of Isaac, and of Jacob, has sent me to you! This is My name forever, and by this name I am to be remembered to all generations.

I AM who I AM
And will always be
The One who was, who is, and is to come –
Rev 1:8
The Alpha, the Omega
The First, the Last
The Beginning, the End –
Rev 22:13 
The Root, the Offspring of David
The Bright and Morning Star –
Rev 22:16
Forever I AM
The great I AM –
Jn 10:30-36
Forever I will be. –
Jn 1:1;Jn 1:14;Jn 17:5

Do you know I AM who I AM?
Who do you say I AM? –Lk 9:18-20;Mt 16:13-17

.

 @Khollandsblog
.
Tweets:
I AM who I AM & will always be-The One who was-who is&is to come-Do U know I AM? Who do U Say I AM? http://wp.me/ppbBB-44F #Jesus #Believe

John 8:56-58 AMPC … Your forefather Abraham was extremely happy at the hope and prospect of seeing My day (My incarnation); and he did see it and was delighted.
57 Then the Jews said to Him, You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham? 58 Jesus replied, I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, before Abraham was born, I AM.

From NetBible Jn 8:58

  • * I AM! is an explicit claim to deity referring to Exodus 3:14 {note it is Elohim[0430] who tells moses this name}  
    *It seems clear that this is the case here (as the response of the Jewish authorities in the following verse shows Jn 8:59) => Jesus’ Jewish listeners understood his claim to deity by applying the “I AM” name to himself, rejected it, and picked up stones to throw at him for what they considered blasphemy.

From Zondervan KJV Study Bible

  • * I AM = declaration of deity from Exodus 3:14. Jesus did not say “I was” but “I AM”, expressing the eternity of His being and His oneness with the Father(Jn 1:1.) With this climactic statement Jesus concludes His speech that began with the related claim, “I am the light of the world“(Jn 8:12).*related:
    John 8:24for unless you believe that I AM He{the One I claim to be}, you will die in your sins.
    John 8:28So Jesus said, “When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I AM He, and I do nothing on My own initiative, but I speak these things as the Father taught Me.
    John 6:35Jesus said to them, “I AM the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.

From NetBible Jn 1:1
In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

  • * And the Word was fully God. John’s theology consistently drives toward the conclusion that Jesus, the incarnate Word, is just as much God as God the Father. This can be seen, for example, in texts like Jn 10:30 (“The Father and I are one”{implies unity}), Jn 17:11 (“so that they may be one just as we are one”), and Jn 8:58 (“before Abraham came into existence, I am”). The construction in John 1:1c does not equate the Word with the person of God (this is ruled out by 1:1b, “the Word was with God”); rather it affirms that the Word and God are one in essence{in unity}.

From NetBible Jn 1:14
And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.

  • *The Greek word translated took up residence (σκηνόω, skhnow) alludes to the OT tabernacle, where the Shekinah, the visible glory of God’s presence, resided. The author is suggesting that this glory can now be seen in Jesus (note the following verse v15). The verb used here may imply that the Shekinah glory that once was found in the tabernacle has taken up residence in the person of Jesus.
  • * The Word became flesh. This verse constitutes the most concise statement of the incarnation in the New Testament. John 1:1 makes it clear that the Logos was fully God, but 1:14 makes it clear that he was also fully human. A Docetic interpretation is completely ruled out. Here for the first time the Logos of 1:1 is identified as Jesus of Nazareth – the two are one and the same. Thus this is the last time the word logos is used in the Fourth Gospel to refer to the second person of the Trinity. From here on it is Jesus of Nazareth who is the focus of John’s Gospel.
  • From Zondervan KJV Study Bible on types of Gnosticism
    • Docetic = Christ only “seemed” to have a body => denies fully human
    • Cerinthianism = The divine Christ joined the man Jesus at baptism and left Him before He died => denies fully God
  • only begotten = The word in Greek was used of an only child. It was also used of something unique (only one of its kind). Thus the word means “one-of-a-kind” and is reserved for Jesus in the Johannine literature of the NT. While all Christians are children of God, Jesus is God’s Son in a unique, one-of-a-kind sense. The word is used in this way in all its uses in the Gospel of John (1:14, 1:18, 3:16, 3:18).

From NetBible Jn 17:5
Now, Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was.

  • * this verse looks back to the assertion in Jn 1:1 that the Word (the Λόγος [Logos], who became Jesus of Nazareth in Jn 1:14) was with God (πρὸς τὸν θεόν, pro” ton qeon). Whatever else may be said, the statement in 17:5 strongly asserts the preexistence of Jesus Christ.
  • * It is important to note that although Jesus prayed for a return to the glory he had at the Father’s side before the world was created, he was not praying for a “de-incarnation.” His humanity which he took on at the incarnation (Jn 1:14) remains, though now glorified.

Hebrews 13:8 AMPC … Jesus Christ (the Messiah) is [always] the same, yesterday, today, [yes] and forever (to the ages).

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Who Do You Say I AM?”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    John 1:1 makes it clear that Jesus was and is fully God. John 1:14 makes it clear that Jesus was fully man and that He is unique. Nobody else is fully God and fully man. Jesus Christ had to come in the flesh – add human nature without the sin nature to the Godhead in order to become the mediator between God and man. Jesus Christ fully God, fully man is the ONLY ONE who fulfills this.

    1 Timothy 2:5 AMPC … For there [is only] one God, and [only] one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus

    => We see from this that the false teaching of Kenosis diminishes the uniqueness of Jesus and puts us operating through the Holy Spirit on the same level.

    ***

    It’s Elohim who declares this name=”I AM WHO I AM” to Moses!

    Colossians 2:8-9 NASB … See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles(spirits) of the world, rather than according to Christ. 9 For in Him all the fullness of Deity dwells in bodily form …

    Jesus is the only on who has the fullness of Diety in bodily form – the rest of the body – children will not receive this fullness until we get our glorified bodies.

    1Corinthians 13:12 … For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known.

    Related:
    Kenosis-Why is it important?!

    False teaching=> Kenosis.

    Teaching:
    Jesus poured out His divinity before He became flesh. This is based on a greek word “kenoo” used in Philippians 2:7 which means “to empty”.

    The teaching then goes on to say:
    Jesus performed miracles, wonders, and signs, as a man in right relationship to God…not as God. If He performed miracles because He was God, then they would be unattainable for us.

    Jesus received this power – the Holy Spirit anointing – to do miracles at His baptism.

Leave a Reply

