The Vine and the Oak

From Bible.org:

“The vine clings to the oak during the fiercest of storms. Although the violence of nature may uproot the oak, twining tendrils still cling to it. If the vine is on the side opposite the wind, the great oak is its protection; if it is on the exposed side, the tempest only presses it closer to the trunk.

In some of the storms of life, God intervenes and shelters us; while in others He allows us to be exposed, so that we will be pressed more closely to Him.”
-B. M. Launderville

Cling like a vine
Like the True Vine clings to the Father
Abide. –
Jn 15:1,4,10

John 15:10 AMPC … If you keep My commandments [if you continue to obey My instructions], you will abide in My love and live on in it, just as I have obeyed My Father’s commandments and live on in His love.

Psalm 63:3,7-8 AMPC … Because Your loving-kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise You. …
… 7 For You have been my help(my deliverer), and in the shadow of Your wings will I rejoice. 8 My whole being follows hard after You and clings closely to You; Your right hand upholds me.

From NetBible Ps 63:8

  • my soul follows hard[01692] = my soul clings, cleaves, pursues hard enough to overtake, pursues with determination
  • Your right hand upholds[08551] = supports me, secures me
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

