Archive for June 4th, 2017

Psalm 42 – I Thirst

June 4, 2017

Consider the last words of Jesus on the cross from the 4 gospels and Psalm 42:

  1. Jesus despite being mocked – forgave
    Jesus saying, “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.” And they cast lots, dividing up His garments among themselves. 35 And the people stood by, looking on. And even the rulers were sneering at Him, saying, “He saved others; let Him save Himself if this is the Christ of God, His Chosen One.” -Lk 23:34-35
  2.  “Today you shall be with Me in Paradise.” -Lk 23:43
  3. He[Jesus] *said to His mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” 27 Then He *said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” From that hour the disciple took her into his own household. -Jn 19:26-27
  4. As Jesus pours himself out on the cross He cries out – deep calls out to deep
    Now from the sixth hour darkness fell upon all the land until the ninth hour. 46 About the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?”(Ps 22:1;Mk 15:34) 47 And some of those who were standing there, when they heard it, began saying, “This man is calling for Elijah.” 48 Immediately one of them ran, and taking a sponge, he filled it with sour wine and put it on a reed, and gave Him a drink. 49 But the rest of them said, “Let us see whether Elijah will come to save Him.” -Mt 27:45-49
  5. Jesus in His humanity on the cross experienced intense suffering and thirst
    Jesus, knowing that all things had already been accomplished, to fulfill the Scripture, *said, “I am thirsty.”  29 A jar full of sour wine was standing there; so they put a sponge full of the sour wine upon a branch of hyssop and brought it up to His mouth. -Jn 19:28-29
  6. Therefore when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And He bowed His head and gave up His spirit. -Jn 19:30
  7. It was now about the sixth hour, and darkness fell over the whole land until the ninth hour, 45 because the sun was obscured; and the veil of the temple was torn in two. 46 And Jesus, crying out with a loud voice, said, “Father, into Your hands I commit My spirit.” Having said this, He breathed His last. -Lk 23:44-46

Psalm 42
1 As the deer pants for streams of water, so I long for You, O God.
2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?
3 My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me continually, “Where is your God?”
4 These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go with the multitude, leading the procession to the house of God, with the voice of joy and thanksgiving among the festive throng that kept a pilgrim feast.
5 Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him For the help of His presence.
6 O my God, my soul is in despair within me; Therefore I remember You from the land of the Jordan And the peaks of Hermon, from Mount Mizar.
7 Deep calls to deep at the sound of Your waterfalls; All Your breakers and Your waves have rolled over me.
8 The LORD will command His lovingkindness in the daytime; And His song will be with me in the night, A prayer to the God of my life.
9 I will say to God my rock, “Why have You forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”
10 As a shattering of my bones, my adversaries revile me, While they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?”
1
1 Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, The help of my countenance and my God.
.
Related:
Thirst{article}
I am Thirsty{article}

