Archive for June 8th, 2017

Above All – Guard Your Heart

June 8, 2017

Proverbs 4:20-23 AMPC …My son, attend to my words; consent and submit to my sayings. 21 Let them not depart from your sight; keep them in the center of your heart. 22 For they are life to those who find them, healing and health to all their flesh. 23 Keep and guard your heart with all vigilance and above all that you guard, for out of it flow the springs of life.

From NetBible Pro 4:20-23
20 My child, pay attention to my words; listen attentively{incline your ear } to my sayings. 21 Do not let them depart from your sight, guard them within{in the midst of} your heart; 22 for they are life to those who find them and healing to one’s entire body. 23 Guard your heart with all vigilance, for from it are the sources of life{it affects everything you do}.

What are some ways to guard your heart?

  1. Listen and submit to the Lord’s words
    • Your word I have treasured{hidden, stored  up} in my heart, That I may not sin against You. –Ps 119:11
    • Let your heart hold fast My words; Keep My commandments and live –Pro 4:4
    • The good person out of the good treasury of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasury produces evil, for his mouth speaks from what fills his heart. –Lk 6:45
    • Teach me Your way, O LORD, and I will walk in Your truth; give me an undivided heart{wholeheartedly committed}, that I may fear Your name. –Ps 86:11
  2. Keep the Lord’s words in your sight – be careful what you focus on
    • Keep my commands and you will live; guard{obey} my teachings as the apple of your eye{most prized possession. }. –Pro 7:2
    • The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes. –Ps 19:8
    • The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear{true, single focus, healthy}, your whole body will be full of light. 23 but if your eye is unhealthy, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! –Mt 6:22-23
    • For with You is the fountain of life; In Your light we see light. –Ps 36:9
  3. Guard your thoughts with God’s word
    • I take joy{delight} in doing your will, my God, for your law is written on my heart{dominates my thoughts.}. –Ps 40:8
    • Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things. 9 The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. –Phil 4:6-9
