When I am Afraid

.
Psalm 56:3-4 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)
3 What time I am afraid, I will have confidence in and put my trust and reliance in You.
4 By [the help of] God I will praise{with} His word; on God I lean, rely, and confidently put my trust; I will not fear. What can man, who is flesh, do to me?

.
A Song:
When I am afraid
Jesus I will trust in You –Ps 56:3
When I am dismayed –Dt 31:8
Jesus I will look to You –Ps 123:1
You’re my help and shield –Ps 33:20-21
With my song I will praise –Ps 28:7

Jesus You’re where my help comes from –Ps 121:1-2
I will be still and know –Ps 46:10
I will trust in You –Ps 56:3
.

.
Psalm 121:1-2 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)
1 I will lift up my eyes to the hills [around Jerusalem, to sacred Mount Zion and Mount Moriah]—From whence shall my help come?
2 My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.

.
Deuteronomy 31:8 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)
8 It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will [march] with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; [let there be no cowardice or flinching, but] fear not, neither become broken [in spirit—depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm].
.
Psalm 33:20-21 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)
20 Our inner selves wait [earnestly] for the Lord; He is our Help and our Shield.
21 For in Him does our heart rejoice, because we have trusted (relied on and been confident) in His holy name.

.
Psalm 28:7 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)
7 The Lord is my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shield; my heart trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song will I praise Him.
.

Word Study
.
From NetBible Ps 56:4
In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?

  • * praise His word = boast in His promise
  • * God’s “word” is here understood as an assuring promise of protection. Another option (2) is to translate, “in God I will boast [with] a word.” In this case, the “word” is a song of praise. The present translation reflects yet another option (3): In this case “I praise his word” is a parenthetical statement, with “his word” being the object of the verb.

.
From NetBible Ps 46:10
Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

  • Be still and know = cease/stop striving and recognize, be at peace in the knowledge
    • * To the nations who rage against God and His people, this is a rebuke to stop fighting/ striving against the Sovereign Lord
    • * To God’s children this is a call to trust and rest secure in the Sovereign Lord’s protection
  • exalted means recognized as Sovereign King => The Lord of Hosts, King of Glory(Ps 24:10) who fights and delivers on behalf of His children(Ps 46:11)

.

Related:
Simply Trust

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.