Fill My Cup

ro15_13

From Psalm 23:5 Customs:

The cup running over speaks of abundance and drinking one’s fill at the Lord’s table. The picture of the Lord as host filling the honored guest’s cup to overflowing also has a custom behind it. When you came to a person’s house (even if a stranger) you were offered a cup of wine or water along with a meal.  As long as the cup was being  refilled you were welcome to stay; if the cup remained empty it was time to go. If the host enjoyed your company and decided that you could stay as long as you liked, the cup would be filled to the rim and overflow. This overflowing cup was only offered to special guests because in the desert you just don’t waste water or wine. So the Lord as host, by offering the overflowing cup is saying, stay as long as you want, I have an abundant supply of wine, oil and bread to meet your needs both now and forever.

Psalm 23:6  …  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.

Psalm 104:15   …  [The Lord provides] wine that makes glad the heart of man, oil to make his face shine, and bread which strengthens man’s heart.

John 15:10-11 TLB … When you obey me you are living in my love, just as I obey my Father and live in his love. 11 I have told you this so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your cup of joy will overflow!

John 16:24 TLB … You haven’t tried this before, but begin now. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and your cup of joy will overflow.

.
Fill My Cup
By Richard Blanchard
Like the woman at the well I was seeking
For things that could not satisfy,
And then I heard my Savior speaking,
“Draw from My well that never shall run dry.”

Chorus:
Fill my cup, Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul,
Bread of Heaven, feed me ’til I want no more
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!
.

 @Khollandsblog
.
Tweets:
#ScripturePrayer May U be filled-Overflowing-With all joy&peace as U trust in Him-Fill my cup-Lord-I lift it up!
https://t.co/QZ8JuwA1C6

Tags:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.