Mor-iah: The Place of Myrrh

I WILL lift up my eyes to the hills [around Jerusalem, to sacred Mount Zion and Mount Moriah]–From whence shall my help come? -Ps 121:1

I will lift up my eyes to where the LORD is enthroned
… to where the LORD dwells -Ps 132:13-14; Ps 9:11

… to the hills -Song 4:6
… the mountain of Mor – myrrh, the hill of frankincense

For in the mount of the LORD it will be provided{seen} -Gen 22:2,14

To You I lift up{marry} my eyes, O You who are enthroned in the heavens! Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their masters; As the eyes of a maid to the hand of her mistress; So our eyes look to the LORD our God, until He has mercy on us. -Ps 123:1-2

The Lover to His Beloved:
You who dwell in the gardens with friends in attendance, let Me hear your voice! -Song 8:13

O My dove, in the clefts of the rock, in the secret places of the cliff(stairs), let Me see your face, let Me hear your voice; For your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely. -Song 2;14

The Beloved to Her Lover:
Make haste, my beloved, and be like a gazelle or a young stag on the mountains of spices. -Song 8:14

He who answered Abraham our father on Mount Moriah, He shall answer you, and hear the voice of your cry this day.

Why is it called Moriah? Because of the good Mor (=myrrh) that is there.

Moriah: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moriah
Myrrh: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myrrh

The Lover to His Beloved:
Until the day breaks and the shadows flee, I will go to the mountain of
myrrh and to the hill of incense. -Song 4:6

____________________________________________________________________________________
Related:
Lift Up Your Eyes
Until the Day Breaks

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Mor-iah: The Place of Myrrh”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    The Lord really touched me with that Youtube song and the promise that He will meet you upon the mountain of myrrh and the hill of frankincense, you just need to fix your eyes on Mt Moriah — Jesus’s fragrant sacrifice and Mt Zion the Lord’s dwelling place and KNOW where your help comes from!

    🙂

    Karen

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    Darlene wrote:
    http://www.pbministries.org/books/gill/Solomons_Song/chapter4/song_04_v06.htm

    I found this. In light of what you had written, it reminded me that since Isaac was intended to be sacrificed on this mountain of myrrh, Joseph of Arimathea brought 100 lbs of myrrh to anoint Christ in his burial… it was as if he was covered in a mountain of myrrh..

    Only 1 lb was necessary for Jewish burial. Myrrh was not leaves but oil, so Christ was buried in 100 lbs of oil of myrrh at his death.

    I was just going over my notes on myrrh before you sent this because I wanted to separate and get them sorted to be a daily word.

    🙂

  3. Lilies Dripping Liquid Myrrh « Touching the King! Says:

    ________________________________________________________________________________ Related: Kiss the Son His Lips, Anointed with Grace Mor-iah: The Place of Myrrh […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.